As part of fulfilling its mission of championing association women who use technology in their career, AWTC honors members every year for their work and leadership.

AWTC Leadership Technology Award

This award recognizes a career of achievement and leadership and is awarded to only one or two women yearly. The recipient is a leader in her association and profession and is known to her peers as an outstanding association IT leader. Typically, she is in a CIO or other leadership role advancing technology and has had an impact beyond her association.

2023 Honoree

Tracy Petrillo, EdD, CAE  |  Chief Learning Officer, California Association of School Business Officials

Tracy Petrillo, EdD, CAE, is a thought leader in continuing professional education, adult learning, credentialing, certification, educational technology, and leadership development. Dr. Petrillo was awarded the highest national honor for staff, the ASAE Professional Performance Award, and is a past Certified Association Executive (CAE) Commission Chair. Tracy currently serves on the ASAE Individual Honors Committee, as well as speaks and writes on learning innovations and technologies and advises on educational strategy planning to create actionable initiatives while driving non-dues revenue. She earned a doctorate in educational leadership and management with a specialization in human resource development. She is a pioneer in digital badging/credentialing and has conducted credential value research within professional associations.

AWTC Technology Innovation Award

The AWTC Technology Innovation Award honors an individual in an association for their novel use of technology or introduction of innovative technological solutions. This recognition spotlights those who have found inventive applications for technology that substantially impacts internal or external stakeholders and moves their association forward. It highlights AWTC's commitment to nurturing creative advancements in association technology.

2023 Honoree

Megan Cottrell  |  Director, Digital Strategy, CREW Network

Well-known for her drive, creativity, knowledge, and empower all who know her, Megan Cottrell is director of digital strategy for Commercial Real Estate Women (CREW) Network, a networking business organization of more than 14,000 members in 80+ major global markets, dedicated to advancing the success of women in commercial real estate. With 22 years of association management experience, Megan is responsible for oversight of CREW Network’s strategic and operational leadership for marking and communications efforts targeted to various audiences. She is dedicated to working collaboratively with like-minded organizations and companies that make diversity and inclusion a priority.

In her free time, she enjoys traveling, watching sports and volunteering. Megan is a member of Association Women Technology Champions (AWTC) Marketing and Communications Committee and is secretary of the Hamm Foundation board. She holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Kansas and is a devoted mother of five.

AWTC Technology Champion Awards

This award recognizes women doing amazing work every day to advance technology in associations. The honoree might be a programmer developing innovative apps, a membership director who has used existing technologies to offer compelling new member services, or a data analyst who is changing the way the organization moves forward with data-driven decisions. This award is open to women working in associations or a company that serves associations.

Simone Bielsker, CAE

Program Director, Information Systems

American Staffing Association

Karine Blaufuss, CAE

Director, Business Data and Intelligence

American Geophysical Union

Molly Burns

Branded Program Manager

Food Export-Midwest

Megan Cantwell

Program Manager

Association of Organ Procurement Organizations

Emily Fekete

Community Manager

American Association of Geographers

Elizabeth Moris

Director of Brand Engagement

Council on Undergraduate Research

Christine Rogers

Senior Marketing Manager

Association of Corporate Counsel

Damita Snow, CAE, ENV SP

Director, Accessibility & Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Strategy, Publications and Standards

American Society of Civil Engineers

Lynn Spence

Director, IT & Web Services

Tax Executives Institute

Tip Tucker Kendall, CAE

Executive Director

National Grants Management Association

Rebecca Breeden



Teri Carden


Non Dues-a-Palooza

Taj Carson



Meg Palumbo, CAE

Director of Customer Strategy

Novi AMS

Arianna Rehak


Matchbox Virtual Media

Megan McKelvy


Altai Systems

Sharon Paré

Senior Partnership Program Manager

HighRoad Solutions

Cate Sauer

Customer Success Manager

Higher Logic

Donna Gandt

Chief Revenue Officer


KiKi L’Italien


Association Chat