AWTC Selects Second Annual Technology Awards Recipients

Washington, D.C.—Association Women Technology Champions (AWTC) announces the winners of its second annual AWTC Technology Awards.  The AWTC Awards program recognizes those women who have made (and continue to make) significant contributions to the advancement of technology in associations.

In recognition of the diversity in the scale of association staff, AWTC has expanded its Technology Leadership Award to two categories, Large Staff and Small Staff, making four total Award categories for 2023.  In both relevant Awards, the AWTC Technology Leadership Award recognizes a career of achievement and leadership. The recipient is a leader in her association and profession and is known to her peers to have an impact beyond her own association in advancing technology.  

The 2022 AWTC Technology Leadership Award – Large Staff recipient is Elizabeth Santana, Director, CRED, Inteleos.  

The 2022 AWTC Technology Leadership Award – Small Staff recipient is Lindsay Currie, Executive Officer, Council on Undergraduate Research.  

This year’s AWTC Technology Impact Award is given to Heather Wakefield, Senior Director of Program Strategy, Development, and Design, Council on Undergraduate Research.

AWTC Technology Champion Awards recognize women doing remarkable work every day to advance technology in associations. These individuals may or may not be in top leadership roles but use their creativity and expertise to advance technology options where they stand in their association or organization which services associations. 2022 AWTC Technology Champion Awards go to the following women:

  • Chantal Almonord, Director of Enterprises Systems and Data Strategy, American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
  • Julie Anspach, Senior Product Owner, Billhighway
  • Nicole Araujo, Client Engagement Director, Mighty Citizen
  • Nicole Bowen, Supervisor, Association Management and Nonprofit Solutions, RSM US LLC
  • Direna Cousins, Director of Membership, The Intelligent Transportation Society of America
  • Aida Dedajic, Director of Engagement, The Appraisal Foundation
  • Cynthia DeJesus, Senior Account Executive, HighRoad Solution
  • Marla Dockery, Project Manager, Achurch Consulting
  • Rebecca Duff, Director, Client Success, Community Brands, Nucleus
  • Caroline Laurin, Vice President, Marketing & Communications, American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases
  • Sarah Lewis, Senior Web Developer, Yoko Co
  • Rachel Mace, Senior Developer, Data Visualizations, Association Analytics
  • Amilie Parent, President, Showcare
  • Rhoni Rakos, Director of Digital Strategy, fusionSpan
  • Christal Rosa, Director of Information Systems & Platforms, EMDR International Association
  • Wendy Sahli, Director, Technology, Regulatory Affairs Professionals Society
  • Katherine Schowengerdt, Director of Operations, American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM)
  • Cecilia Sepp, Principal, Rogue Tulips Consulting

AWTC’s Awards are presented annually with a peer nomination process and review by AWTC. See for more information.  

AWTC congratulates the 2022 Award winners for their outstanding contributions to advancing technology in associations. 


Moira Edward, President, Ellipsis Partners LLC

Phone number: (703) 831.7821

Email address:

Association Women Technology Champions

AWTC is a networking and educational group, providing knowledge and support to advance women in association technology. The group is open to anyone who works in or serves associations, whether as staff, supplier, consultant, or partner. For more information, visit